CLEAN detox: Day 3 – Of Bloating and Bisques

Posted by: Candice Leigh Hughes

 

Butternut Squash, Leeks, and some other stuff.

Well, I haven’t posted these first few days of the detox. I’ve been keeping my head down, hoping these first three days go by quickly and without much fuss. Luckily, so far our side effects aren’t particularly interesting.

They say the first three or so days of a CLEAN detox will cause significant side effects as the toxins stored in your body flush your system as they are being cleansed. This can cause bloating, headaches, constipation, etc. My belly hurts and feels bloated, but I haven’t had much else in the way of bad side effects. But cravings are definitely happening. For all sorts of foods, the names of which I will not mention – for I do not want to think and dream and wonder about the goodies from which I am barred.

Some good things Andrew and I have noticed are an immediate decrease in weight (though I am assuming this is simply from eating “lighter” foods and much less food, rather than actual fat burning), clear-heads, energy, deep sleep, overall feeling GREAT. I can’t believe we are noticing a difference so quickly. I have had less headaches and not one bit of nausea in the past three days. Amazing!

….I am, however, already tired of bisques. That being said, I LOVE the midday meal and am starting to feel full with a much smaller portion size than I am used to. I can’t wait to experiment this next week with recipes such as a quinoa-crust for a pizza topped with chicken, roasted veggies, and avocado-pesto or the other idea I saw that was homemade CLEAN-approved flax tortillas for chicken tacos. OOOOOOOO OO! And this Friday, I am invited to a Girls’ Night Out and will be experimenting with some raw vegan desserts. What will I make? A coconut/cocoa/hazelnut cake? Raw chocolate almond cookies? Who knows!

Anyway, I am optimistic that this detox is going to be amazing. I hope that feeling continues as time goes by.

Well, here are some photos of our food on our pretty coral placemats. Please ignore my ugly fingernail polish. Anyways…:

Honeydew, Kiwi, Apple, Lemon, Ginger, Raw Protein Source

Blackberries, Raspberries, Quinoa, Greens, Balsamic/Lemon Dressing

Red Lentils, Cilantro, Onions, Potatoes (oops! These aren’t allowed!), Lemon, Cumin, Turmeric

Leave a comment