CLEAN detox: The Revenge of the Chocolate Cheerios.

Adorable Chocolate Cheerios lunch. Adorable. Visit the blog: http://www.meetthedubiens.com/2012/02/this-week-in-bento-boxes.html

Posted by: Candice Leigh Hughes

Well, we have been a few days without sugar and yesterday I, in all my adorable mommy “wisdom,” decided it would be nice for my toddler to have a “treat.” Chocolate Cheerios would be her treat. Yes, I wouldn’t touch them. Too much sugar. I would just watch her eat them and giggle at her chocolate, happy, sugar-induced zombie face. I would give her a treat because I can’t have one. Chocolate. Sugar. yes. For my toddler. for…. my…. toddler….. yes.

So I bought them!

Well, half a box of Chocolate Cheerios later, I was stuffed and headachy. 9g of sugar per serving. Maybe a lot, maybe a little. But what I’ve come to realize ALREADY during this elimination week is that I feel worse when I have bread/grains or sugar. Go figure. I felt tired, dazed, groggy all day long. Oh……. and I had McDonald’s for breakfast. This is NOT prohibited for us this week, but it is bad for you and it costs money. Of course, it is also one of my all-time favorite places to eat. My husband (aka detox partner) scolded me when he got home, knowing that I bought the Cheerios for the girl and couldn’t control myself and then I went to McDonald’s. hah. I’m glad he is keeping me accountable! I need that stability during this detox.

Anyway, it wasn’t even like I felt I NEEDED sugar or chocolate. I was just searching for something for some cereal, saw it, and justified the purchase. I feel frustrated like I should have more willpower or something. That will come.

Reminder: It is just food. Get over it. Cheerios don’t just fly into your mouth. You are in control, not the Cheerios.

This Post rocked my world. Check it out.

Anyway, in other news, we are changing our CLEAN detox start date to this upcoming Sunday. Saturday night we are having dinner with some friends. Hamburgers, french fries, and salad. So, obviously not a detox dinner. We’ll start Saturday with a smoothie for breakfast and a light lunch. Maybe a salad or something. I haven’t planned that far in advance yet.

Went down to 1/2 caff coffee today and I am allowed coffee in the mornings only. *grits teeth* Ok, it gets a little crazy here and we don’t look back. (5 gold stars to you if you can name that reference.) Friday I will cut out coffee completely. Then I will be coffee-less and sugar-less.

That’s about all the updates for today. Good luck on your own journey. Pray with me that I will have the strength and determination to get through the next 3.5 weeks!

But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

…. and now I want chocolate Cheerios and McDonald’s RIGHT NOW. Oops! I probably should’ve written this post AFTER breakfast!

3 responses to “CLEAN detox: The Revenge of the Chocolate Cheerios.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing my blog! Trust me, I know exactly where you are and I promise when you get all the junk out of your system those chocolate cheerios and Mickey D’s will loose their luster quickly.
    I used to LOVE Golden Oreo’s. After months of clean eating I decided one Oreo wouldn’t kill me.
    They tasted like pasty sugar. Not like the delectable nibbles that used to lure me. Now I see the jar sitting on the counter and all I think is “pasty sugar”.
    Truly give yourself a bit of time to adjust and stay the course. It’s not easy but it is SO WORTH IT!

  2. Thanks for your comment and encouragement! I can’t wait to really dive into this detox and come out clean on the other side. Hopefully you are right, and the cravings will dissipate soon!!! *sigh* 🙂

Leave a Reply

